Why I am avoiding the household planners.

I love planners.  I love calendars.  I love planning in general!  I love filling in dates on my calendar, scheduling life…it makes me far happier than it should, I admit!

But you know what always goes along with my planner?  GUILT.  I have those perfectionist tendencies, you know.  When I make those lists and schedule everything and it doesn’t happen…guilt.  I don’t enjoy my planner anymore, because it is taunting me, showing me all of the things I didn’t do today.

I know, it’s not the planner’s fault.  It’s not even the person who made the planner’s fault, though I would sometimes like to have some words with that person…

I ran across another planner today.  Another household planner, actually.  I loved the claims.  Get in control of your house and your life!  Don’t be stressed about the little chores anymore!  Enjoy time with your children because everything is under control!  Just do these six simple things every day, and life will be swell!

I knew I shouldn’t have clicked on that link.  I can’t help it, though.  It’s like a disease.  I inevitably click that link.  I look at the pretty planner. I think about how organized my life could be if I would just follow its simple instructions.

But I can’t.  I just can’t do it.  And when I can’t…guilt.  I don’t need it!  I’m buying a planner this year, but it is another of the same type I had last year.  Small, simple, $5 from Wal-Mart.  Monthly calendar, weekly pages.  Perfect for doctor’s appointments.  Planning vacations.  Putting the birthday celebrations on the calendar.

But the housework?  It’s not on my calendar.  I do it.  I’m doing much better with it.  You know what I finally decided to do?  It’s ridiculously simple.  I just ask God what I should do next.  Do you know that He never forgets about my dishwasher needing to be emptied?  And then I’m trying to actually do it, right then if possible, instead of putting it off until later.  Because later never comes.

My house is getting cleaner.  It’s not quite where I want it to be yet.  But I wouldn’t be terribly embarrassed if someone came over right now.  I can start my day with a good amount of peace tomorrow.  Well, once I get the three pans from dinner washed.  In fact, I’m feeling prompted to go do that now…

I’m also remembering that every good post should have a photo, but if I give in to the need for a perfect blog post that follows all of the rules of blogland, those pans are never going to get washed.  So, no pictures for you. 🙂  But clean pans.

And one more idea.  I’m thinking about using the weekly spots in my planner this year.  I usually just use the monthly part.  Do you know what I’m going to write next to each day?  What I did.  What I actually accomplished.  Not what I should have accomplished.  Not what someone else wanted me to do.  Not lists of things I must do to avoid total chaos.  Just what I did.  And as long as that list includes “fed family” (even if we resorted to frozen something or other or fast food), and “kept children alive” (even if they had to watch some tv that day), I’m going to consider it a successful day.  It goes against every perfectionist cell in my body (which is pretty much all of them), but I’m going to do it.  I’m redefining success for myself.  And praying for the grace to achieve it, and believe it.

How about you?  Do planners help you, or hinder you?  How do you plan to stay organized this year?

Leave a Reply

