Blogging that makes a difference…

I’m a bit overwhelmed today by the unfairness of life.  By the inequality of opportunity.  By the way our fate can be determined by the place and circumstances of our birth. 

And I look through the posts of the blogs to which I subscribe, and I think, really?  We’re worried about having sparkly shoes when others, even our neighbors, lack enough to eat?

I don’t have anything against sparkly shoes, by the way.  There’s a good possibility I’ll make some for myself at some point. 

I love crafty blog land.  I love the people here.  I love the inspiration I receive.  I love how my little projects enrich the lives of my children, or help me stay organized.

But I want to do a little more.  Maybe you do as well.  Here’s a glimpse of what I’m thinking:

One for you, and one for me.

If I make something for myself, or for my children, then I will also make something for someone else to give away.  I will likely make duplicates of most of my projects, and use the second to bless someone else.

It’s very small, and very simple.

But I think it might make a very big difference.

I’m beginning with a simple crayon wallet.  I’ll post about that soon.  If you’re interested, I’ll include the tutorial; I had a hard time finding a free pattern online. 

In the meantime, I’m going to work on a button.  I’m thinking something similar to the Process Pledge you’ll find on the right-hand side of my blog.  That way, anyone who wants can join in, and we can all be part of something a little bigger than ourselves, utilizing the talents we’ve been given to bless others.  One for me, and one for you.

3 thoughts on “Blogging that makes a difference…

  1. I found your blog by way of I’m an organizing junkie. I don’t blog and I’m not crafty but I enjoy reading about it. I LOVED your post today and wil continue to read on. What a wonderful idea and if I ever make/create anything I hope to do just that–make a second for a friend/neighbor/church. R.

  2. I love your idea…One for me, and one for you. What is so powerful about it is, that it not only makes the recipient feel great to be thought of, but it is wonderful for the giver as well.
    Bravo!

  3. Pingback: One for me and one for you « The Practical Perfeccionista

Leave a Reply

