FLYing failure…and a new plan!

This year is the year I master all things domestic.  Remember my Domestic 2011 focus?  It’s January 16, and this month’s focus is routines to keep the house clean.  By this point in the month, I should be halfway there to having all of my routines established and consistent, correct?  Correct.  I should.  But I do NOT.

I tried FlyLady’s Babysteps again…for the third or fourth, maybe fifth time!  I love many of her routines.  She’s inspired me.  But her baby steps, and some of her exact routines, simply are not the most effective for me, my family, and my home.  So, finally, I’m LETTING IT GO.  Goodbye FlyLady Babysteps.  I’m going to take what I can use from her, and continue!  I think she would approve.

What I really need to do is quite simple; and in its simplicity, seemed insufficient.  I need to follow and use my Daily Dottie!  I have all of my Daily Dottie routines ready to go; they simply need to be enacted!  I can’t do it all at once; that’s the reason my Daily Dottie is hanging forlornly on my wall, with not one single dot for several weeks, giving me motherly stares and inducing all manner of guilt every time I glance in that direction. 

I have a plan.  I’m posting it here, and hoping it will induce me to stick with it!  I have fourteen little things that I need to do each day to keep my household and life running smoothly, as well as maintaining my sanity and giving me peace in my own home.  And, there are fourteen more days left in January!  I am going to add ONE routine each day.  I’m going to do more than one thing on my list, hopefully, but I’m going to concentrate and be very intentional about doing ONE each day.  And each day afterwards I’m going to do the ones from the day before, intentionally, and add ONE more.  I can do this.

Here’s my schedule of the new routines to add each day.  I’m just going in order down my Daily Dottie:

1/17: Lay out tomorrow’s clothes

1/18: Tomorrow’s clothes, and log homeschool hours

1/19: Previous routines + Dishwasher (run and/or put away dishes, whichever is required)

1/20: Previous routines + Laundry (put in new load, move, fold, whatever necessary…does NOT allow for leaving clothes in washer for several days 🙂 )

1/21: Previous routines + Prep tomorrow’s dinner

1/22: Previous routines + Update children’s visual schedule

1/23: Previous routines + 15-minute cleaning dash

1/24: Previous routines + School plans for tomorrow

1/25: Previous routines + Exercise (though exercise for me is 3x week/jogging and 3x/week Pilates, so there’s a day off as well)

1/26: Previous routines + My projects (I always have a project – sewing, crafting, decorating, cooking…)

1/27: Previous routines + Label pictures (Family pictures; I like to label them and stick them in little flip albums, to avoid having boxes of photos that no one ever sees.  I was successful with this for a long time, but now I have a few boxes!)

1/28: Previous routines + Blog

1/29: Previous routines + E-mail (keeping in touch with people)

1/30: Previous routines + Special Room Cleaning (per Fly Lady’s daily missions, sent out via e-mail)

1/31:Previous routines + Clean countertops in kitchen (I forgot to put this on my Daily Dottie, and am adding it on!)    All routines in one day, and fill in all of those Daily Dottie Dots!!!!!

Then I just have to continue.  Every day.  Never ending.  That, right there, is why I give up.  I might do it all one day, but then I just have to turn around and do it all over again! 

But that’s my job.  And that is what will make my home a welcoming place for my family and any friends who may drop by.  And what will keep me from panicking if someone pulls in my driveway.

And I can do it, if I remember my motivation:

23 Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, 24 since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.                                

                                                                                                                                                                                           – Colossians 3:23-24

5 thoughts on “FLYing failure…and a new plan!

  1. Just want you to know that I find your blog so very inspiring. Thank you so much for making it such a joy to read. Hope you are having a blessed day!
    Lindsay

  2. Pingback: A little success… | The Practical Perfeccionista

  3. Pingback: Progress…both domestic and sewing! | The Practical Perfeccionista

  4. I like your plan! I’ve tried the FlyLady system as well, and it helped me in many ways, but I desperately need to do my own thing 🙂 I’ve got index cards for each part of the day with the few things I need to get done to make the day run smoothly. I like that it’s just a few things to get done rather than a long list. At the moment they are sitting in my desk drawer, completely ineffective. I will pull them out right now and get started again 🙂 You are an inspiration, thank you!

  5. I found The Flylady in October 2011…and I desperately need the guidance.
    But you must know that her steps are NOT cut in stone, neither are those baby steps. So you ladies are right in getting in there and doing your own thing….as long as you are ‘fully loving yourself’ while you are working on it all. I am still finding it hard to love myself….but for the first time in about 18 years, I – yes – me do have a clean shiny sink…..and I hate doing dishes….but I did start with that weird baby step of the Flylady’s. And it has worked, on that part of the house, at least…..I hate cleaning of any sort except laundry….and I need to get into loving it also put away…
    The Flylady has led me to new friends in the same shape and age that I am and we poke each other to get moving….I am 60 and I have always hated cleaning….it is TIME FOR ME….to love myself and in turn have a clean, decluttered home.

Leave a Reply

