Ah, the Friday Flop

It’s never a question of whether there IS a Friday Flop, of course.  It’s only a matter of WHICH flop of the week I’d like to share with you, dear friends.

Lest you think I am a complete failure and never return to my blog, I will start with the success of the night:

Fifty gorgeous chocolate-chip cookies, just for my lovely husband.  I’ve finally realized, he’s going to eat sweets, and better for him and the grocery bill that he eat this homemade goodness than endless boxes of Little Debbies.  I didn’t do this purely out of the goodness of my heart, lest you think me SuperWife…he folded some laundry and is seriously considering patching the hole above my stove that is keeping me from hanging my wallpaper backsplash.  🙂

And now, for the Flop.  The flop can be described with superlatives: floppy, floppier, and floppiest:

I’ll have to begin with the very floppiest of the flop: meet the Sugarless Cookie.

And by sugarless, I don’t mean I substituted Splenda or something natural.  I mean, I forgot to add the brown sugar.  What is more, I forgot to add the white sugar.  The only sugar in this cookie is in the applesauce, which is the sweetened variety.  From the store, yes, I have not reached anything like the level of domesticity which would lead you to believe that it was homemade.  Obviously, given the sugar omission.

On the bright side, this is a quite edible cookie.  It is also completely lactose free (thanks to Ghiardelli semi-sweet chocolate chips), a requirement for all of us except my husband.  Further, it is very possibly the healthiest cookie you could ever make.  Even better, I am quite sure that my children will eat it quite happily.  This is why you should not give your children too many sweets, so that they will readily accept your cookie flops.  Even the Floppiest of Flops.

And now, onto the merely Floppy and Floppier Cookies: the Low-Sugar Cookies.

When you’re making a cookie with no butter or oil, and replacing with applesauce, you want to be careful not to overstir the batter.  Overstirring makes your cookie nice and rubbery.  Yum!  Rubber.  This presented a small problem as I wanted to incorporate some of that missing sugar.  Solution: mix about 1/8 cup of applesauce with a roughly equal amount of brown sugar, and mix carefully.  It was actually a quite successful fix, and I am going to enjoy these cookies.

You see, there’s something good about every flop.  Sometimes you have to work a little harder to find the good, especially with your Floppiest Flop, but I simply consider that a challenge to be met.  I might as well look at it that way, as I am never wanting for flops :).

Should this post have made you hungry, raid your cabinets for chocolate chips and try these recipes for yourself:

The Full-Fat-Completely-Delicious-Traditional Chocolate Chip Cookie: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Award-Winning-Soft-Chocolate-Chip-Cookies/Detail.aspx

Note: I baked these for 12 minutes at 335 degrees, and they turned out perfectly, per the recipe.  Minus the nuts, of course.

The Healthy-Yet-Delicious Chocolate Chip Cookie: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/No-Butter-Choco-Chip-Cookies/Detail.aspx

Note: on the last recipe, I used 1 3/4 c. flour, 1 c. of that being whole wheat, and added 1 tsp. baking soda and 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla.  I used only 3/4 c. of chocolate chips, and no butterscotch.  Sugars, obviously, are optional. 🙂

Leave a Reply

